Skip to main content
HDFC·Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card
Apply →
Card ReviewShoppers Stop Black HDFC credit card

Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card

The ₹4,500 premium tier: 7% at Shoppers Stop with points worth a full ₹1 against store vouchers, 16 domestic and 8 international lounge visits a year, and a welcome kit that covers the fee in year one. The catch is year two — there is no spend-based waiver at all, so the card has to return ₹4,500 on its own every year after.

HDFC BankPREMIUM
Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card
HDFC Bank
Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card

Illustration by CardAdvisor — not a depiction of the issued card. Independent; not affiliated with HDFC Bank.

3.9
out of 5
Premium tier
The Black is a genuine premium co-brand rather than a badge: 7% at ₹1 a point is a real 7% for anyone who shops at Shoppers Stop seriously, and 16 domestic plus 8 international lounge visits is a proper travel package at this price. The catch is the absence of any fee waiver — ₹4,500 is due every year regardless of spend, so year two is where the maths gets tested. Work out your actual Shoppers Stop spend before committing; below about ₹1.24 lakh a year of store spend the ₹299 base card wins on net value even though it earns less.
Annual fee₹4,500
Real cost (incl. 18% GST)₹5,310
Top rate~7%
Best forHeavy Shoppers Stop shoppers who spend enough there for 7% at ₹1 a point to outrun a ₹4,500 fee with no waiver, and who will use the 24 lounge visits. Below roughly ₹1.24 lakh of annual Shoppers Stop spend the ₹299 base variant nets more on store spend.
Share
✓ Expert-reviewed by Devchandra Sah· verified 22 Aug 2026Spotted an error? Tell us →

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 7% Reward Points at Shoppers Stop, worth a full ₹1 each against Shoppers Stop vouchers
  • 16 domestic plus 8 international lounge visits a year — a real travel package at this price
  • ₹1,500 welcome voucher and a Shoppers Stop Black membership HDFC values at ₹4,500
  • ₹2,000 in points for a single ₹50,000 Shoppers Stop bill, claimable monthly
  • Accidental air death cover of ₹3 crore

Cons

  • No spend-based fee waiver — the ₹4,500 is due every year regardless of how much you spend
  • Reward Points are worth ₹1 only against Shoppers Stop vouchers; every other route pays ₹0.20–0.25
  • Supermarkets, fuel, rent, wallet loads, government payments, EMI and insurance earn nothing
  • Only worth the fee if your Shoppers Stop spend is genuinely large — below about ₹1.24 lakh a year the ₹299 base variant nets more on store spend
  • HDFC does not state a card network for the Black, and lists no UPI benefit for it — unlike the ₹299 base variant, whose page carries an explicit RuPay-on-UPI block

Quick verdict: A genuine premium co-brand rather than a badge. 7% at Shoppers Stop with points worth a full ₹1 against store vouchers, a 2% base that is respectable for a retail card, and 16 domestic plus 8 international lounge visits a year — a real travel package at ₹4,500. The welcome kit covers the fee in year one.

Then year two arrives, and there is no spend-based waiver of any kind. That is where this card has to be judged.

What it earns

  • 7% Reward Points on every Shoppers Stop purchase, in-store and online — uncapped, which is the

meaningful upgrade over the base card's 500-point monthly ceiling.

  • 2% Reward Points on everything else, uncapped.
  • Nothing on supermarkets, fuel, rent, wallet and gift-card loads, government payments, EMI or

insurance.

Points are worth ₹1 against Shoppers Stop vouchers and ₹0.20–0.25 anywhere else — identical to the base card, and the same five-fold cliff. A store shopper redeeming into vouchers gets a true 7%. Someone cashing out gets about 1.5%.

The perks are not filler

BenefitDetail
Welcome kit₹1,500 Shoppers Stop voucher + Black membership HDFC values at ₹4,500
Monthly offer₹2,000 in points for a single Shoppers Stop bill of ₹50,000+, once a calendar month
Domestic lounges16 a year (4 per quarter)
International lounges8 a year (2 per quarter)
Air accident cover₹3 crore

24 lounge visits a year is more than several dedicated travel cards at this fee offer, and it is the reason this card can make sense for someone whose Shoppers Stop spend alone would not justify it.

The year-two problem

Year one is comfortable: a ₹1,500 voucher and a membership HDFC prices at ₹4,500 against a ₹4,500 fee. Whether you accept HDFC's valuation of its own membership is another matter, but the voucher alone plus a few months of 7% gets most buyers to break-even.

Year two has no such cushion. ₹4,500, every year, no waiver. To cover it (₹5,310 with GST) on store spend alone at 7%, with points redeemed into vouchers, you need roughly ₹76,000 of annual Shoppers Stop spend. That is a serious retail habit — about ₹6,300 a month, every month, at one chain.

Which produces the crossover that matters most:

Below roughly ₹1.24 lakh a year (about ₹10,300 a month) of Shoppers Stop spend, the ₹299 base card nets you more on store spend — despite earning 3% instead of 7% — because it costs about ₹4,960 less a year, GST included. The Black's extra 4% has to earn back that gap, and 4% of ₹1.24 lakh is ₹4,960.

That figure is our arithmetic rather than an HDFC number, and it shifts if you genuinely use the lounges. Value 24 lounge visits at even ₹500 each and the Black claws back ₹12,000 of headroom, at which point it wins easily. Value them at zero because you rarely fly, and the base card is simply the better buy.

The honest read

This is a well-built card that is easy to buy for the wrong reason. The 7% headline is genuine and the lounge package is unusually generous — but both are attached to a fee that never goes away and cannot be spent down.

So the decision is not "is 7% better than 3%". It is: will I spend ₹1.24 lakh a year at Shoppers Stop, or will I use two lounge visits a month? If either is a confident yes, take the Black. If both are maybes, the ₹299 card gives you most of the retail benefit for a fee you will not notice.

One practical note: unlike the base variant, HDFC does not state a network for the Black and lists no UPI benefit for it. If paying by UPI from a credit card matters, do not assume the premium tier inherits it.

Who should hold it

Take it if Shoppers Stop is genuinely where you shop — ₹10,000-plus a month — or you will use the lounge access. On that profile it is one of the stronger retail co-brands in the market.

Skip it if your store spend is occasional, if you would redeem points as cashback, or if you cannot say with confidence what you spent at Shoppers Stop last year. With no waiver to fall back on, it pays to know your spend before you apply.

The bottom line

Real 7%, real lounges, real fee — and no way to make the fee go away. Do the ₹76,000 and ₹1.24 lakh sums before you apply, count the lounge visits you will actually take, and if the answer is not clearly yes, the ₹299 sibling is the smarter card.

Decided the Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card fits how you spend?

Applications are submitted to and decided by HDFC Bank. CardAdvisor does not issue cards or process applications.

Found this useful? Share it
Devchandra Sah
Reviewed by · Cards tested, miles earned, trips booked — for over a decade

I have spent over a decade on Indian credit cards, mostly for the points and miles. I am a software engineer by profession, I hold and use the cards I write about, and I redeem through airline and hotel transfer partners: Avios, KrisFlyer, Flying Blue, Air India Maharaja Club, Accor ALL, Marriott Bonvoy and Taj. What I write about is what a card is actually worth after the fine print, the caps and exclusions that decide the real return, and the changes issuers make quietly. No paid placements.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Shoppers Stop Black have a fee waiver?
No. HDFC publishes no spend-based waiver for this card — the ₹4,500 is due every year regardless of how much you spend. That is the single most important thing to understand before taking it, because the welcome benefits cover the fee in year one and nothing covers it in year two except the card's own earning.
How much do I need to spend at Shoppers Stop to justify it?
From year two, roughly ₹76,000 a year of Shoppers Stop spend, redeemed into store vouchers, just to cover the ₹5,310 all-in fee (₹4,500 + GST) at 7%. Below about ₹1.24 lakh a year the ₹299 [base card](/cards/hdfc-shoppers-stop) nets more on store spend despite earning 3% instead of 7%, because it costs about ₹4,960 less all-in. That crossover is our arithmetic, not an HDFC figure, and it moves if you value the lounge visits.
What lounge access does it include?
16 domestic visits a year — four per quarter — plus 8 international visits a year, two per quarter. That is a genuine travel package at this price point and it is the main non-retail reason to consider the card. If you will use even half of it, the fee arithmetic changes substantially.
What is a Reward Point worth on the Black?
The same as on the base card: a full ₹1 against Shoppers Stop vouchers, and ₹0.20 to ₹0.25 through any other route. So the 7% headline is a real 7% for a store shopper redeeming into vouchers, and about 1.4% to 1.75% for anyone who cashes out. Everything about the card's value follows from which of those you will actually do.
Does the Black link to UPI like the base card?
Not that HDFC states. The ₹299 base variant's page carries an explicit RuPay-on-UPI block; the Black's does not, and HDFC does not state a card network for it. If UPI-linked credit matters to you, do not assume the premium card inherits it — check before applying.
What earns nothing on this card?
Supermarkets, fuel, rent, wallet and gift-card loads, government payments, EMI conversions and insurance. The 2% base applies to everything else, which is a respectable non-store rate — better than the base card's 1% — but those exclusions cover a lot of ordinary spending.

More guides

Researched from primary sources. How we review →

Independence. CardAdvisor is an independent editorial publication. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by, or authorised to act for HDFC Bank and Axis Bank. All issuer names, product names, and payment-network marks are the property of their respective owners and appear here for identification and comparison only. Card faces shown on this site are our own original illustrations — we do not display or host issuer card artwork or logos.